influential
January 27, 2013-2:19 pm

ive been reading a lot in my spare time - not things which are entertaining but things which are informative, critical, reflective, things that make me think about the world and society and culture and life. im starting to take it all more seriously, seeing the value in knowledge

i am very easily swayed - i generally take everything at face value, i believe things that are even only slightly well written and i accept that if someone has taken the time to write then i can take it for granted that their opinion is true. i am gullible. the other day, my friend told me that he saw a wind turbine, and that since it was a windless day the thing was plugged in so that it would still spin. i said, "really?"

i am learning to trust my instincts, to accept less easily. some of the problem might be that i am humble and timid, i am afraid to express my opinion because it is most likely wrong. i am no expert, so what do i know? but as i grow up, i realize that my opinion and experience are valid, and valuable - if for nothing less than to provide a backdrop for my life, and to contextualize my perspective. i find myself attracted, very strongly, to people who are informed, well spoken, reasonable and more than anything else, making an effort to educate. what good is it to have knowledge if you keep it to yourself?

there are two women right now who i absolutely adore, and i submit myself to their influence. i hope that they will make a better version of me. and i will embrace my own part in it; i am a person with agency.

suicide - October 13, 2016
i wish i was dead - October 13, 2016
i could have written more, but you dont know what to listen for - October 12, 2016
ctrl+heartbeat - October 11, 2016
i dont even care - October 08, 2016


<< older and wiser >>

more
new #
old #
profile #
loved #
favorites #
notes #
email #
alter-ego #
dland #