are you their god
January 12, 2013-10:48 pm

i need to talk about him

today my friend asked me why i havent gone to church in so long. when i told him that my church had shut down, he offered to come with me to help me find a new one. he said he missed going with me. when i first met god, b told me that the key to converting others is not shouting at them about sin and jesus but living a christian life and letting others see how that changes you. and i thought that was nice, because i hate the idea of forcing anyone to believe anything despite what the bible or my pastor or anyone else tells me. that being said, i dont think i have done a particularly good job of being a good christian example in the past two years. but when my friend told me he missed going to church with me i thought, maybe i have reached one person.

that is a good start, i think

but for the past year i have felt an emptiness in my life that i know used to be where god lived, and i know that i left him so abruptly and forgot about him and he let me make that choice, and i am seeing the consequences of that in my life. as i turned away from him, things began to fall apart. and when i turned away from that which drew me from him, he rewarded me by introducing me to someone amazing. some people just say that this is the power of positive thinking, perhaps, but that too is god.

in anthropology, religion is a cultural phenomenon that humans developed in order to serve a purpose in the same way that they developed language, art, tools, money, everything. it is simply an adaptation. and in this sense, i believe that god exists only in ourselves, because we say he does, and this makes us feel better. and i also believe that us creating god and feeling his presence in a meaningful way is what makes him real. does that make sense?

i need to talk about Him

suicide - October 13, 2016
i wish i was dead - October 13, 2016
i could have written more, but you dont know what to listen for - October 12, 2016
ctrl+heartbeat - October 11, 2016
i dont even care - October 08, 2016


<< older and wiser >>

more
new #
old #
profile #
loved #
favorites #
notes #
email #
alter-ego #
dland #